Kensal Rise

I ‘ve got my uncle’s Six Million Dollar Man with the bionic eye in my right hand, 
 
and I’m trying to chew my bubble gum while my mum has my head tilted to the left. 
CONK. 
The side of the comb connects flush to my forehead in a quick motion. That’s the signal to sit still. I can feel the coldness of my mother’s middle finger as she applies hair grease to one of the lines of my canecrow. 
 
I’m currently looking like Method Man in Mary J Blige’s video – All I Need
 
 
It’s a warm day in Kensal Rise, but the heaters on  
 
my brother’s whistling playing Subbuteo
 
 
and shouting at the mini Man United players. He’s got my McDonald’s Hamburglar car parked up in the goal, 
 
and giving a running commentary of the qualitywithinplay, and key match actions. Liverpool still winning.
Hair complete, and my granddad’s calling me to turn down the television in the front room. I enter and he’s sitting an arm’s length from the tele. I can see a bottle of Babycham on top of the bar. 
 
 
 
 
I think my granddad is in love with green.  Green slippers, green cords, and green cardigan justify my thoughts.
 
Down the banister I slide. Reaching the bottom I have to squeeze past my uncles chopper parked in the passage. 
 
 
I’m looking for my marbles and remember my brother placing them in the cupboard under the stairs. The door is at a jar, so I tilt forward on raised toes and just manage to collect them off the meter
 
 
I can hear laughter out in the front garden, and head in that direction. BLAST. My marbles have rolled out from the palm of my hand and roll between the gap between the front door, and the carpet. I kneel down and roll back the carpet back, and reveal our homes original flooring.
 
Marble in hand, and still chewing on my bubble gum I bounce. 
 
My uncle is sitting on the wall playing on his hand held, while my aunty is playing with her Cats’s Cradle. 
 
 
 
I’m heading to the shop for something cold, a lolly of something. Mmmmmmmmmm…………………………….
 
I find myself outside the barber shop
 
and then realize maybe there is too much juice in this bubble gum, because I’ve gone the wrong way to the shop. U-TURN
 
Ice pops. That’s it. If I get six then everyone back at home can have one
 
My uncle, aunty and neighbours from across the road are playing Simon on the wall. 
 
 
Ice pops distributed. Back inside and upstairs. Subbuteo time. Liverpool to resume dominating football
 
Supported researchers: Thanks to @TheRealist_Jay and Pritti Kelly for the Cat’s Cradle reminder
One thought on “Kensal Rise

Leave a Reply

